Oil pressure problems

A place for general discussion. Catch up with mates, post pics, or if you just want to pick on e-thugs.
Johnyturbo
Big Dorifto

Oil pressure problems

Post by Johnyturbo »

Hi Everyone,

Im new to the forms and have a JA starion running a standard motor 2.0lt motor, i have recently been running in to some oil pressure problems with the motor as the gauge when started and idle will almost max out.

So far to try and counter this is have changed the Oil to penrite HPR10(with a fresh filter) and changed the oil presser sensor that looked like it was completely ruined.

With the new sensor installed the oil pressure looks like it might be reading just slightly lower than beforehand sitting just underneath the max of the gauge (again on idle).

Replacement part details:
Brand:Fuelmiser
Part no.CPS27
Same part but another brand: http://www.eziautoparts.com.au/champion ... cps27.html

Car work histroy: unknown as im a fairly new owner.

first question i guess i have is, has the person at the store sold me the correct sensor and if so besides a shot gauge what else could be coursing this, at the levels the last sensor was reading at i would have been pretty convinced the motor would have blown the head by now.
Only other thing i could think of that would be making the oil pressure sit at current levels is if some one has changed the gear on the oil pump and used the wrong sized cog.

Anyone help that anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated,

Cheers
MR Bender
Enthusiast king

Post by MR Bender »

welcome !

first -was it always doing it?
or did it just happen all at once?

does it pop out the dip stick?
Bite my shiny metal ass!!!

Russell Coight: Some of the animals are nocturnal, so the best time to see them is at night. Only you can't see them, because it's dark.
Johnyturbo
Big Dorifto

Post by Johnyturbo »

Hi Mr.Bender!

thanks for the welcome.