L300 van

All technical questions and answers regarding starions, being modifications to maintenance.
vanman
[L] Plates

L300 van

Post by vanman »

hi, name's andrew and i'm a noob to this site and there appears to be a good bit of info around, however i have something in mind for my L300 van.

it's a 1994 model with the 4g63 sohc carb engine putting out an earth shattering 43.8kw atw. naturally i'm wanting more but dont want to spend the earth.

the van already has a header and a crush bend 2" exhaust system. the header will remain and the exhaust will be replaced with a 2.25" mandrel system shortly.

and then there's the intake side - the obvious restriction.

i read that there is (possibly) a twin carb setup that could bolt straight on to the motor. first of all, is this true? secondly if so, what car did it come off and where might i be able to find the setup?

once i've got that sorted i'll then look at an upgraded cam. am think i'll just go to ivan tighe engineering for a regrind to slighly better specs.

i think this will be all pretty cheap and would give me a fair bit more grunt to the van.

so is there anything else i should be looking at? is the single carb upgradable instead of going twin carbs? etc?

thanks for your help!

andrew.
Cookiemonster
Mother Goose

Post by Cookiemonster »

Dunno about carbs.

You could bolt on the L300 multi point injection with associated electronics. Much better than carbs. Better throttle response, fuel economy.

More work though.
vanman
[L] Plates

Post by vanman »