Rewiring the track car - any wiring gurus out there?

All technical questions and answers regarding starions, being modifications to maintenance.
Lunacy
nearly postwhore

Rewiring the track car - any wiring gurus out there?

Post by Lunacy »

Right, im just getting into rewiring the twincam engine and doing battery cables, power distribution etc.

My thoughts at the moment are that the battery is going to be mounted on the floor behind the passenger seat, with a ground of 2 gauge wire earthed to the chassis.
From the + terminal of battery, 2 gauge wire to the big terminal on the starter motor, with inline kill switch/isolater.
From starter 2 gauge wire to a distribution block (any ideas for this, all i can find are car audio ones)
2 Gauge wire from block to chassis ground.
From distribution block il need power to following - fusible links - alternator - fused switch panel (has ignition, fuel pumps, fans, heater on it) and relays, and starter button( 12v on one pin and starter motor spade terminal on other)
Somehow need 40amp fused 12v power source to relay for ecu which will feed injectors, 12v on ecu and TPS and CAS. Guess its possibly best to run this direct from battery + terminal also via switch panel?
Switch panel is pre wired, so only needs a communal positive 12v and ground feed which covers all the switches, then each fused switch has an output wire for when its switched on, of which most will no doubt go to relays mounted beneath it for fans, pumps, heater etc.

Obviously will ground everything as well where required.
Am keeping factory wiring harness for stuff like lights, indicators, wipers etc.

Sorry if this sounds like alot of rubbish, im just trying to get my ideas for this down to see if anyone has any thoughts on it or anything ive missed/improvements.
If anyone has done this and cares to share any tips yell out pls :)
Cheers
Bryce
iXNAY
nearly postwhore

Post by iXNAY »

everything sounds pretty good.

what ECU are you going to run?